AgEBB-MU CAFNR Extension

David Burton
Civic Communications Specialist
2400 S. Scenic Ave.
Springfield, MO 65807

December 15, 2017

Texas County 4-H'ers Headed
to Nationals in Shooting Sports

HOUSTON, Mo. - Shooting Sports is a popular 4-H program and many members from southwest Missouri have gained national recognition in the program.

According to Janice Emery Weddle, 4-H youth development specialist headquartered in Texas County, 4-H youth from across the state selected for the state shooting teams will represent Missouri 4-H at the National Invitational Match to be held in June in Grand Island, Nebraska.

Any 4-H Shooting Sports member who is in good standing with their county program, enrolled in the project, and at least 14 years old may participate in the selection process.

The selection process for the state shooting teams began earlier this fall.

The four individuals in the state with the highest scores are given the opportunity to represent Missouri as a state team member.

Three 4-H members from Texas County have been selected for the state team.

Kaitlyn Davis of Summersville will be on the Smallbore Rifle (.22) Team.

Pierce Ford of Licking will be on the Shotgun Team.

Ty Smith of Hartville is in the 13 age range category, based on high scores has been invited to practice with the Air Rifle Team

"Having three members from Texas County 4-H representing us statewide and nationally is exciting. I am so proud of the youth and the shooting sports program. I am so glad people from all around get to see a representation of the talent we have in this area. The positive outcomes of this program will be seen in our community for many years to come," said Weddle.


Missouri 4-H is University of Missouri Extension's youth development program. The 4-H program helps to create opportunities for young people to be valued, contributing members of their community. To learn how to get involved locally go to

Residents of southwest Missouri can contact any of these 4-H youth development specialists and educators with MU Extension for information: Jennifer Hancock in Christian County, (417) 581-3558; Krista Tate in Howell County, (417) 256-2391; Bob McNary in Jasper County, (417) 358-2158; Karla Deaver in Lawrence County, (417) 466-3102; Mike Coffey in Newton County, (417) 455-9500; Velynda Cameron in Polk County, (417) 326-4916; Willa Williams in Taney County, (417) 546-4431; or Janice Emery in Texas County, (417) 967-4545.

Photo available for following caption Photo credit: University of Missouri Extension

Smallbore Rifle Team Photo: Kaitlyn Davis, 3rd from Right.

Photo available for following caption Photo credit: University of Missouri Extension

Shotgun Team Photo: Pierce Ford, 2nd from Right.

Photo available for following caption Photo credit: University of Missouri Extension

Air Rifle Team Photo: Ty Smith, 2nd from Left.

Source: Janice Emery Weddle, (417) 967-4545

Return to Current News Releases

MU Extension
College of Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources
MU Extension Commercial Agriculture Program