AgEBB-MU CAFNR Extension

David Burton
Civic Communications Specialist
2400 S. Scenic Ave.
Springfield, MO 65807

January 18, 2019

Public Election of Greene County Extension Council
Taking Place from Jan. 21 to Jan. 25

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. — Greene County residents may choose from nine candidates to fill eight seats on the county's University of Missouri Extension Council during the public election held Jan. 21-25, 2019. Anyone who is age 18 or older and a Greene County resident is eligible to vote.

Citizens of voting age in Greene County, pursuant to the provisions of Sec. 262-577, R. S. Mo. 1969, can vote and elect eight new members to the extension council for Greene County.

A ballot and complete candidate biographies are online at

The online ballot is the preferred method of casting a ballot since it is open 24-hours a day, Jan. 21-25. A ballot can also be printed off the extension website and returned to the office. To be counted, the completed and mailed ballot must be postmarked by Jan. 25.

Those without access to the Internet can also vote by printed ballot between 8 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. at Greene County's MU Extension Center, 2400 S. Scenic, Springfield, Mo. Extension offices are closed Monday, Jan. 21 for Martin Luther King's birthday.

The following persons are candidates for seats, all of which carry two year terms: Tony Ahart, Springfield; Lisa Bakerink, Springfield; Ben Clutter, Springfield; Chad Courtney, Springfield; Alex Greiwe, Springfield; Tyler Gunlock, Ash Grove; Marissa Hayward, Springfield; Scott Smith, Springfield; Jason Whitesell, Ash Grove.

Every county in Missouri has a publicly elected extension council. Members are elected to represent the educational needs and backgrounds of people in Greene County.

County extension councils are the governing body for local educational opportunities provided by University of Missouri Extension. Council members work with extension faculty in making decisions concerning extension programs, personnel, and the local extension budget.

Source: David Burton, (417) 881-8909

Return to Current News Releases

MU Extension
College of Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources
MU Extension Commercial Agriculture Program