AgEBB-MU CAFNR Extension

David Burton
Civic Communications Specialist
2400 S. Scenic Ave.
Springfield, MO 65807

January 26, 2018

Greg Boehne Leads All Candidates in 2018 Greene County
Extension Council Election; Seven New Faces Join Council

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - Over 250 Greene County residents voted and chose from 13 candidates to fill nine seats on the county's University of Missouri Extension Council during a public election held Jan. 15-19, 2017.

A total of 256 separate votes were cast this year, the highest since online voting began in 2012. There were 173 separate votes in the 2017 election. This year, 98 percent of all ballots were cast online using the MU Extension designed system.

The following eight persons were elected to a two-year term on the council.

Greg Boehne, a graduate of Mizzou and owner of Boehne Financial Group in Springfield, was the top vote-getter with 119 votes.

Karen Dowdy received the second highest number of votes with 75. She is a resident of Willard, a member of MU Extension's inaugural EXCCEL Leadership Class in Greene County and a Compliance Coordinator for workforce development at the Missouri Job Center.

Morgan Ash - who is the current council secretary, a graduate of Mizzou, and an employee of Habitat for Humanity of Springfield — was the second highest vote getter with 67 votes.

Other top voter getters in ranked order include Sam Snider, Larry Adams, Ann Hall, Chris Schulze, Rick Stenberg and Brandon Hebbert.

However, Snider has agreed to be added to the council as the appointee for the City of Willard. That switch made room for Brandon Hebbert to take a two-year seat on the council.

David Johnson, who received the 10th highest votes overall, will serve out the remainder of the one-year term created by the recent resignation of Peter Longley.

Three candidates did not receive enough votes to be elected to the council this election cycle: David Byrd of Battlefield, Joe Crim of Springfield and O'Brien St James Daniels of Springfield.

"We had a fantastic slate of candidates this year. The residents of Greene County will be represented well by these council members," said David Burton, county program director. "We will begin gathering names in October for the 2019 election."

Candidates will be sworn into office at the annual extension meeting starting at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, Feb. 26 at the Springfield Botanical Center.

Every county in Missouri has a publicly elected extension council. Members are elected to represent the educational needs and backgrounds of people in Greene County. County extension councils are the governing body for local educational opportunities provided by University of Missouri Extension. Council members work with extension faculty in making decisions concerning extension programs, personnel, council elections and the local extension budget.

Photo available for following caption Photo credit: University of Missouri Extension

Chart of Election results

Source: David Burton, (417) 881-8909

Return to Current News Releases

MU Extension
College of Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources
MU Extension Commercial Agriculture Program